In order to fulfil the functions of a biosphere reserves, they are divided into three zones with different priorities for the implementation of the biosphere reserve objectives: core area, buffer zone, and transition area.

Facts transition area

  • Covers 64% of the total area

  • the focus will be on the implementation of an ecologically, economically and socio-culturally sustainable development

  • numerous active organizations

Transition area

Comprises 64% of the region where priority is given to sustainable economic and recreational activities. Innovative ways to promote sustainable development and lifestyle shall be established in order to enhance the local economy and improve people’s quality of life.

Streuobstwiese im Frühling

facts buffer zones

  • Covers 31 % of the total area

  • protection through environmantely, sustainable, economic development

  • zones of value to natural science and nature conservation

  • Initiative und implementations projects with Volunteers

Buffer zones

Covers 31 % of the total area where focus is made on ecologically balanced cultivation and use of resources. Natural, though man-made habitats like meadows and pastures, vineyards and dry grasslands with their outstanding diversity of species shall be maintained.

Facts Core areas

  • 5% of the biosphere reserve

  • 27 core areas located in lower austria, 10 core areas located in Vienna

  • individual areas size between 1,5 - 1.300 ha

  • 9 different landowner

  • forest areas

  • process conservation

Core areas

5% of the biosphere reserves are nature preserves, protected by law and scattered in the forest areas throughout the region. Priority is on the conservation of natural habitats and species. Basically free of human influence, the Wienerwald core areas shall become primeval forests in the future and offer opportunities for research.